Sammi Awuku Receives ‘The Best Political Youth Leader Of The Decade’ Award

The Director General of the National Lottery Authority, Sammi Awuku has been honoured with “The Best Political Youth Leader Of The Decade” award for his exemplary leadership by the Ghana Union of Professional Students (GUPS).

Mr.  Awuku received the award when leadership of the GUPS led by Stephen Kwesi Acqauh, aka Mayor Carlos and his executives visited him at his office and conferred his honorary award on him.

The affable former youth leader and National Organizer of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) received the award for his tremendous contributions towards youth leadership across the country.

Sammi Awuku also commended GUPS for the organizing the awards programme held on Friday, 26th November 2021, in Accra and their continued efforts in promoting the interest of professional schools in Ghana.

“Thank you GUPS for remembering me. Thank you for your leadership and your perseverance. To whom much is given, much is expected, so we will continue to do our best for the youth. We won’t always get it right but we won’t deliberately get it wrong even if we get it wrong, we must at all cost get it right for the betterment of Ghanaian youth”, he said.

 A citation accompanying the award stated that, “You demonstrate maturity beyond your yeas, professionalism beyond expectations and dexterity seldom seen. Your passion for the youth and everything youthful is a testament of your undying commitment to the cause of Ghanaian youth. Your modesty and impact is an inspiration to every young person!”

GUPS which began as the society for professional institute, has a rich and impressive pedigree as the largest umbrella body of professional students in the country, drawn from 15 ratified educational institution

In an interview with the president of the GUPS, Mr. Stephen Kwasi Acquah lauded Sammy Awuku for being a role model to the youth of Ghana.

Present at the meeting includes Ibrahim Inusah, Coordinating Secretary, Nana Kwaku Ofosu, Treasurer, Rexford Adom Asare, Press and Information Secretary and Emily Nyarko, IRS.